WhatsApp is apparently updating its privacy settings by allowing users to disable their last seen, profile photo, and about status updates for specific contacts. At the moment, you can set these to either everyone, My contacts, or nobody – so either anyone, or all your contacts can see your updates, or no one can. The update may help people who don’t want to show their last active status, profile picture, or current about status to a particular contact but still want others to see them. In contrast, the groups and status feature privacy settings already let you choose specific contacts who are not allowed to see your updates or add you to groups.
A screenshot has been shared by WABetaInfo that shows the new option in place on WhatsApp for iOS in last seen privacy settings. However, the source claims that it would also be available to Android users and for other privacy settings, including Profile Photo and About status.